Powwer Energy Shot

November 10th, 2018

Nope, that’s not a typo with a double-w. I guess the design of the can is supposed to look a bit like a battery. Not one of the premium batteries, but one of those cheap batteries you find in megavalue shops selling at £1 for a pack of 100, and that value branding does sadly reflect on the taste. It’s a clone with quite a watery taste to it, and quite a sticky and sickly aftertaste. Still, it does say “Recharge your battery” on the can, and with 40mg/100ml caffeine content it’s pretty high!

Overall Rating: (1.6/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 40mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 18kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Home Bargains
Web Site:

1899 Lemon

November 3rd, 2018

I’m a big fan of lemon flavoured energy drinks, especially chilled ones opened on a hot summer’s day because they are usually very refreshing. This one was so close, but the lemon flavour is just slightly too strong. It’s sugar-free (without making a song and dance about it on the can) which is I am assuming to avoid the sugar-tax imposed on high sugar beverages in the UK.

Overall Rating: (1.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

1899 Sugar Free

October 27th, 2018

I have to be honest, this tastes nothing at all like its original counterpart. It’s a nice energy drink with no dodgy aftertaste and overall quite easy to drink.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 3kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

1899 Cherry

October 20th, 2018

Quite a tart yet sweet drink, remeniscent of double-dips from the sweet shop. Nice in a 250ml can but I wouldn’t want much more than that. The upside is though it’s sugar-free!

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

Sunsoul Raspberry and Elderflower

October 6th, 2018

I have just noticed that Sunsoul appear to be numbering their flavours. This particular one is No. 8. Taking a look at their website, the Kaffir Lime and Lemon has been replaced by No. 22 ‘Sicilian Lemon and Lime’ instead… but I’ve not discovered that or No. 17 and No. 3 yet. Ill keep my eyes peeled. It’s a nice drink – the raspberry being the dominant flavour but if you are faced with the choice I’d go for the lemon and lime one.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 26mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 34kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Sainsbury's
Web Site: Click here

Carabao Green Apple Sugar Free

September 29th, 2018

Carabao are really pushing their brand at the moment, with posters everywhere and even TV adverts. It’s a bit disappointing though that their main ‘special’ flavours are pretty much following those of the cheaper brands, i.e. apple and orange. I’m expecting them to release a berries one too at this rate. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a nice drink if you like apple drinks – it’s not overpowering and they’ve got the balance right, but it just feels like something I picked up from a discount shop and not the premium £1 can it is.

Overall Rating: (2.6/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 1kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By:
Web Site: Click here

Carabao Mandarin Orange

September 22nd, 2018

Sadly I didn’t win the million pound prize, or indeed any prize, but the drink itself was nice. It’s fruity and definitely orange – I can’t confirm the mandarin part because my taste buds are not that sensitive! It’s a good all-round sweet flavoured orange energy drink, it’s not cheap tasting either but equally didn’t feel as premium as its price point.

Overall Rating: (3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 19kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Premier Stores
Web Site: Click here

5-hour Energy Berry

July 28th, 2018

With these 5-hour energy shots it really doesn’t seem to matter what flavour they say it is – what you get is a quick burst of bitter flavour down your neck followed by a pick-up a few minutes later. And that’s what really matters… you do taste the berry I guess, briefly, but it’s not important or much different to the other flavours!

Overall Rating: (2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 350mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 11kCal/100ml
Size:
Sold By: Whole Foods NYC
Web Site:

5-hour Energy Orange

July 21st, 2018

It says 5 hours on the bottle, but this beauty got me through a 6 hour drive along the M4 on a busy bank holiday Friday evening. As you’d expect from a shot, it’s more about the instant caffeine hit whilst minimising bladder impact than the flavour which makes it a perfect driving companion.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 350mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 11kCal/100ml
Size: 57ml
Sold By: Whole Foods NYC
Web Site: