Coca-Cola Energy

May 18th, 2019

What can I say other than it’s a potent version of Coca Cola? I’m not much of a Coke drinker to be honest, but to me it didn’t taste any different to regular Coke. It’s got a much higher caffeine content, and doesn’t appear to be suffering from a lack of sugar either.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Asda
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Twister Wacked Red Berry

May 11th, 2019

I’ll start with the name… I’m familiar with the word ‘whack’, but not ‘back’, so I needed to look that up. Apparently it means “bad, stupid, or unusual”, and I’m guessing it’s that last definition that they intended to associate with this flavour! Just like the other blue raspberry flavour I tried last week, the red berry is also quite tasty but sickly. But mostly tasty! The flavour took a while to identify, but I’d say it tastes like raspberry donuts (yes, American spelling). Not just normal raspberry donuts, but the artificial flavouring you get when you try a raspberry donut flavoured product such as raspberry donut flavoured milkshake or sweets. It’s not a flavour I’ve ever come across in an energy drink before and is very different to the raspberry of the blue raspberry drink.

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lifestyle Express
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Twister Smashed Blue Raspberry

May 4th, 2019

This tastes great, but it is quite sickly after a while. It’s part of Rockstar’s new ‘twister’ range, for which I have only found two products (see Wacked Red Berry). At the time of writing, the rockstarenergy.co.uk web site appears to be down, so I can’t be certain as to the full intention for the ‘twister’ range of flavours, but I’d guess they are a response to the UK sugar tax. At 4.7g of sugar per 100ml, this drink falls in just short of the 5g limit for the tax to apply and consequently provides 23 calories/100ml too. That’s not low in calories by any means for a soft drink, but it’s in the right direction and certainly a lot lower than the older full-fat Rockstar blends.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
4.0/5 (1 vote)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lifestyle Express
Web Site: Click here

Wow Focus Nootropic Mixed Berry

April 27th, 2019

What is ‘Nootropic’? Apparently it’s ingredients that support cognitive function and reduce fatigue, and inspired by the film ‘Limitless’ (the book’s better, but I still loved the film and the TV series personally!). This is a new brand, and the can design is a bit different too with it being wrapped in a label instead of directly printed. The flavour of the drink sadly doesn’t appear to be anything special. It tastes like a supermarket own-brand blackcurrant drink. It’s low calorie (almost no-calorie) so it does have that in its favour.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
3.5/5 (2 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 0.4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Asda
Web Site:

SIS Go Caffeine Shot Cola

April 20th, 2019

This drink was so sour that I didn’t get any cola flavour at all. I might just as well have been sucking on a lemon to be honest. Still, it’s a very fast acting and potent drink which bolted me awake pretty quickly!

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 250mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 15kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: Sainsbury's
Web Site: Click here

SIS Go Caffeine Shot Tropical

April 13th, 2019

Slightly different to the taste I was expecting – the usual energy shot flavour is one that’s very bitter with quite a nasty aftertaste, but this one was instead very sharp with a sweet aftertaste. It still made me draw back my lips from my teeth and make a hissing sound, but it was nowhere near bad enough to make me question my motives in trying the shot this time. It’s pretty high in caffeine even for a shot and gave me a boost in pretty much record time… not a drink to be taken lightly!

Overall Rating: (2.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 250mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 14kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: Sainsbury's
Web Site: Click here

Pantha Energy

April 6th, 2019

I’m not sure where Tesco managed to dig this drink up from, but its web site is no longer active and the social media accounts haven’t posted anything in years. Aside from the spelling of Pantha, which offends my pedantry, the drink is nothing special. It’s a basic sickly tasting clone and full of sugar.

Overall Rating: (1.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Tesco
Web Site: Click here

Sunsoul Sicilian Lemon and Lime

March 30th, 2019

Here it is, No. 22. I think that this replaces the Kaffir Lemon and Lime Sunsoul drink which I reviewed back at the end of 2017 because I haven’t seen that recently. Anyhow, if my memory serves me correctly then I found the old version quite nice and refreshing – a very summery drink despite finding it in Winter. Sadly, this new version is a bit more tart and not as smooth as the old one. It’s still nice, but disappointing when I had such good memories of its predecessor.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 26mg/100ml Tags:
Calories: 34kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Sainsbury’s
Web Site: Click here

USN Spike Energy Shot Berry

March 16th, 2019

You don’t tend to see many energy shots anymore. There was a time several years ago when every brand had a ‘shot’ version. As I expected though, these Spike shots have the familiar extreme bitterness that the shots of old use to provide. This berry flavoured shot was sadly masked by that aforementioned bitterness, so all you really taste is a sour burst of liquid that makes you draw your lips back over your teeth and inhale sharply.

Overall Rating: (2.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 300mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 14kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site: Click here