Kicker

December 1st, 2018

This drink has two things going for it: quantity and price. I could only find it in litre bottles, and for the bargain price of 89p. It’s a definite clone, but quite mild and watered down in flavour. I didn’t get much of a kick from kicker, but it did the job I suppose!

Overall Rating: (3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 46kCal/100ml
Size: 1000ml
Sold By: Poundstretcher
Web Site:

Buffalo

November 24th, 2018

I discovered this can sitting in a Pound Stretcher fridge all by itself, the sole remaining can in the shop so far as I could see. Design-wise, I think the can is quite attractive, with Wild West style lettering and the not-Red-Bull-bull / buffalo drawn above. It doesn’t have the same look associated with many cheap clone drinks. It is, however, a clone! The flavour is sweet and sharp, but with a hollow overtone making it feel quite watery, but it does pack an expected punch of sugar and caffeine. If when you read this their website is still working, check it out. The marketing team are clearly not native English speakers but they have done their best to sell the product! I mean, it has “magic ingredients” and “After opening up the can, you can directly feel the Energy 
which runs into your body!”. They even do a ‘junior’ version according to their site which is a soft drink containing L-Carnitine. I can’t condone the potential targeting of children in an energy drink brand, even if that one product is not technically an energy drink, but I’m still on the lookout for it as I’d quite like to try it personally.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By:
Web Site: Click here

Powwer Energy Shot

November 10th, 2018

Nope, that’s not a typo with a double-w. I guess the design of the can is supposed to look a bit like a battery. Not one of the premium batteries, but one of those cheap batteries you find in megavalue shops selling at £1 for a pack of 100, and that value branding does sadly reflect on the taste. It’s a clone with quite a watery taste to it, and quite a sticky and sickly aftertaste. Still, it does say “Recharge your battery” on the can, and with 40mg/100ml caffeine content it’s pretty high!

Overall Rating: (1.6/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 40mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 18kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Home Bargains
Web Site:

1899 Lemon

November 3rd, 2018

I’m a big fan of lemon flavoured energy drinks, especially chilled ones opened on a hot summer’s day because they are usually very refreshing. This one was so close, but the lemon flavour is just slightly too strong. It’s sugar-free (without making a song and dance about it on the can) which is I am assuming to avoid the sugar-tax imposed on high sugar beverages in the UK.

Overall Rating: (1.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

1899 Sugar Free

October 27th, 2018

I have to be honest, this tastes nothing at all like its original counterpart. It’s a nice energy drink with no dodgy aftertaste and overall quite easy to drink.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 3kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

1899 Cherry

October 20th, 2018

Quite a tart yet sweet drink, remeniscent of double-dips from the sweet shop. Nice in a 250ml can but I wouldn’t want much more than that. The upside is though it’s sugar-free!

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

1899

October 13th, 2018

Morrisons (the supermarket) appear to have rebranded their own-brand energy drinks for their 120th anniversary with four different flavours. This is the original flavour, and whilst it’s undoubtably a clone it’s quite a sweet and treacle-like taste with quite a sticky aftertaste. Where this rebrand stands out though is not in its flagship original flavour but in its full range including sugar-free, lemon and cherry varieties – those latter two also being low calorie and not shouting about it.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

Sunsoul Raspberry and Elderflower

October 6th, 2018

I have just noticed that Sunsoul appear to be numbering their flavours. This particular one is No. 8. Taking a look at their website, the Kaffir Lime and Lemon has been replaced by No. 22 ‘Sicilian Lemon and Lime’ instead… but I’ve not discovered that or No. 17 and No. 3 yet. Ill keep my eyes peeled. It’s a nice drink – the raspberry being the dominant flavour but if you are faced with the choice I’d go for the lemon and lime one.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 26mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 34kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Sainsbury's
Web Site: Click here

Carabao Mandarin Orange

September 22nd, 2018

Sadly I didn’t win the million pound prize, or indeed any prize, but the drink itself was nice. It’s fruity and definitely orange – I can’t confirm the mandarin part because my taste buds are not that sensitive! It’s a good all-round sweet flavoured orange energy drink, it’s not cheap tasting either but equally didn’t feel as premium as its price point.

Overall Rating: (2.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 19kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Premier Stores
Web Site: Click here