Cult Sugar Free

September 14th, 2019

As with the ‘original’ flavour, it’s a clone and sadly nothing more special than that. Taste-wise, it’s actually difficult to tell that’s it’s sugar-free and it really does taste very similar to its full-fat version. It’s quite a watered down flavour to start with anyway.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Cult

September 7th, 2019

A great can design and brand name, but sadly it’s just a façade for a generic clone drink. It’s easy to drink and not bitter or sickly, but there’s not too much else to say about this one unfortunately.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Sodastream Xtreme Energy 0 cal

August 31st, 2019

I’m a bit late to the whole Sodastream revelation having only just received one as a gift. I know they’ve been around for decades, but it’s just one of those things I kept putting off until another time. So, when I did eventually get one, I realised that most of the syrups are not available in the UK anymore. I imported a whole box of these Xtreme Energy 0 calorie syrup concentrates from a supplier in the US and fortunately it tastes pretty nice! I’ve guessed at the caffeine content for two reasons. Firstly, it doesn’t state on the bottle how much caffeine is in the syrup. Secondly, the amount of caffeine in your drink depends very much on how strong you make your drinks! This is a very strong tasting syrup and I’m still trying to figure out the best syrup/water ratio, but it’s sweet (you can’t tell it’s sugar free in my opinion) and refreshing. Now that I have a Sodastream, provided I can keep obtaining a supply of these syrups then this is likely to become my staple daily energy drink of choice. If only I could source it in the UK, that would save a whole load of transport costs (and carbon footprint!).

Overall Rating: (3.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 0kCal/100ml
Size: 440ml
Sold By: eBay (US Import)
Web Site:

Mutant: Red Dawn

August 17th, 2019

I discovered this range of Mutant drinks in a confectionary import shop in Cardiff. I thought at first it was a Monster rip-off, but it turns out it is actually a genuine Monster brand. The drink has been imported from Vietnam, and there’s very little English on the label so it’s quite difficult to make out any information about it from there. However, remembering when I tried a bottle of Mutant a while back, this spin-off brand is Monster’s attempt to get in on the Mountain Dew market. Where the Gold Strike flavour of Mutant was attempting to copy the Mountain Dew White Out, I thought that obviously Red Dawn must be trying to copy Code Red. But, Code Red was a cherry drink, and I couldn’t detect any cherry flavouring in Red Dawn. I think it’s a lot more similar to Monster Assault – a harsh and slightly bitter-sweet flavour. It certainly wasn’t the smooth Mountain-Dew-like experience that I was expecting. Not as nice as Gold Strike, but drinkable never-the-less.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 20mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 69kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By:
Web Site:

Mutant: Gold Strike

August 10th, 2019

I discovered this range of Mutant drinks in a confectionary import shop in Cardiff. I thought at first it was a Monster rip-off, but it turns out it is actually a genuine Monster brand. The drink has been imported from Vietnam, and there’s very little English on the label so it’s quite difficult to make out any information about it from there. However, remembering when I tried a bottle of Mutant a while back, this spin-off brand is Monster’s attempt to get in on the Mountain Dew market. The Gold Strike flavour here is very similar to Mountain Dew White Out. It’s smooth and creamy (!?), I guess a bit like a citrus cream soda. Very nice, but very sweet and not that refreshing if that’s what you’re looking for.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 20mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 69kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By:
Web Site:

Boost Energy – Cherry Burst

August 3rd, 2019

I was a little bit disappointed with this drink. It started off great, a nice and sweet fix cherry flavour that was a bit different to the norm. But, after only a few sips it became quite sickly to drink. That’s a shame really because they really have tried something different, so maybe it’s just not to my taste.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Hollywood Grocer and Wine
Web Site:

Coca-Cola Energy

May 18th, 2019

What can I say other than it’s a potent version of Coca Cola? I’m not much of a Coke drinker to be honest, but to me it didn’t taste any different to regular Coke. It’s got a much higher caffeine content, and doesn’t appear to be suffering from a lack of sugar either.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
1.0/5 (2 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Asda
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Twister Wacked Red Berry

May 11th, 2019

I’ll start with the name… I’m familiar with the word ‘whack’, but not ‘wack’, so I needed to look that up. Apparently it means “bad, stupid, or unusual”, and I’m guessing it’s that last definition that they intended to associate with this flavour! Just like the other blue raspberry flavour I tried last week, the red berry is also quite tasty but sickly. But mostly tasty! The flavour took a while to identify, but I’d say it tastes like raspberry donuts (yes, American spelling). Not just normal raspberry donuts, but the artificial flavouring you get when you try a raspberry donut flavoured product such as raspberry donut flavoured milkshake or sweets. It’s not a flavour I’ve ever come across in an energy drink before and is very different to the raspberry of the blue raspberry drink.

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lifestyle Express
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Twister Smashed Blue Raspberry

May 4th, 2019

This tastes great, but it is quite sickly after a while. It’s part of Rockstar’s new ‘twister’ range, for which I have only found two products (see Wacked Red Berry). At the time of writing, the rockstarenergy.co.uk web site appears to be down, so I can’t be certain as to the full intention for the ‘twister’ range of flavours, but I’d guess they are a response to the UK sugar tax. At 4.7g of sugar per 100ml, this drink falls in just short of the 5g limit for the tax to apply and consequently provides 23 calories/100ml too. That’s not low in calories by any means for a soft drink, but it’s in the right direction and certainly a lot lower than the older full-fat Rockstar blends.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
4.0/5 (1 vote)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lifestyle Express
Web Site: Click here