Clean Drink Cactus-Lime

November 9th, 2019

There were a few flavours of ‘Clean Drink’ available in the small Swedish news agent that I found this in, but this looked the most interesting. Cactus and Lime flavour – it certainly tastes a bit different to your average drink. You can taste the lime easily, it’s not a strong flavour but sweet and refreshing, and then there’s the odd accompanying plant-like taste that goes with it. It’s not unpleasant and it works quite well with lime, but I couldn’t tell you exactly what type of cactus it is! I assume there must be a specific type of cactus somewhere that has been used to make drinks for centuries and there may even have been a fascinating story on the side of the can to tell me this, but I don’t speak Swedish! Anyway, worth a try for something refreshing and different.

Overall Rating: (4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 55mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 3.5kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Stockholm
Web Site:

Red Bull Beach Breeze

November 2nd, 2019

This is branded as ‘Summer Edition’, but being in a blue can instead of the white summer edition can seen in the UK and US, I thought I’d better try it to make sure that it’s different. The white summer edition is coconut-lime, and I’m sure that this blue summer edition is also coconut-lime, but somehow tasting different. It’s less coconutty (???) and much fruitier, slightly berry-like too perhaps? Maybe it is exactly the same and I was just in a much better mood when I drank it, but as I have no side-by-side comparison to scientifically test that then my opinion will have to do – I like this blue can better than the white one!

Overall Rating: (3.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Stockholm
Web Site:

Celsius Citron Lime

October 26th, 2019

Mmmm, really good. Nice, fruity, and refreshing. It’s also dangerously highly caffeinated (at almost double the dose of Red Bull) in combination with being really easy to drink so be careful! Fortunately, it is very low in calories by way of compensation.

Overall Rating: (4.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 56mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 1kCal/100ml
Size: 355ml
Sold By: Stockholm
Web Site:

Battery Blueberry

October 19th, 2019

A pretty good pick-me-up with a very subtle blueberry flavour. Quite sweet but not sickly and very easy to drink. Certainly it is better than the standard energy flavoured Battery I remember having a while back.

Overall Rating: (3.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 60kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Helsinki
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Energy

October 12th, 2019

This is the third Faxe Kondi drink I’ve tried, and sadly the least inspiring. It’s a clone, and it makes no pretence of that to be fair with its “Intense Taste of Energy Drink” slogan along the top of the can. Very sweet, quite sickly, but pretty much what you’d expect from a clone.

Overall Rating: (1.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 46kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Original

September 28th, 2019

For those of you who are not of a Danish persuasion, Faxe Kondi is a Danish soft drink brand, generally marketed as a sports drink. ’Booster’ is their caffeine enhanced range and with this Original flavour they have taken their flagship product and given it an enhanced makeover. Taste-wise it’s very sweet and fruity, but unspecific in the particular fruit used. It’s pretty good, but quite sickly after a while. All of the varieties were available in 500ml cans, but I chose the smaller 330ml for testing and I think even that serving size is too much. I’d suggest this is better suited to an occasional treat rather than a general pick-me-up. Note: I did also see a number of other flavours, but due to the storage limitations of my backpack I had to take just the essentials!

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 49kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Cult Sugar Free

September 14th, 2019

As with the ‘original’ flavour, it’s a clone and sadly nothing more special than that. Taste-wise, it’s actually difficult to tell that’s it’s sugar-free and it really does taste very similar to its full-fat version. It’s quite a watered down flavour to start with anyway.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Cult

September 7th, 2019

A great can design and brand name, but sadly it’s just a façade for a generic clone drink. It’s easy to drink and not bitter or sickly, but there’s not too much else to say about this one unfortunately.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Sodastream Xtreme Energy 0 cal

August 31st, 2019

I’m a bit late to the whole Sodastream revelation having only just received one as a gift. I know they’ve been around for decades, but it’s just one of those things I kept putting off until another time. So, when I did eventually get one, I realised that most of the syrups are not available in the UK anymore. I imported a whole box of these Xtreme Energy 0 calorie syrup concentrates from a supplier in the US and fortunately it tastes pretty nice! I’ve guessed at the caffeine content for two reasons. Firstly, it doesn’t state on the bottle how much caffeine is in the syrup. Secondly, the amount of caffeine in your drink depends very much on how strong you make your drinks! This is a very strong tasting syrup and I’m still trying to figure out the best syrup/water ratio, but it’s sweet (you can’t tell it’s sugar free in my opinion) and refreshing. Now that I have a Sodastream, provided I can keep obtaining a supply of these syrups then this is likely to become my staple daily energy drink of choice. If only I could source it in the UK, that would save a whole load of transport costs (and carbon footprint!).

Overall Rating: (3.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 0kCal/100ml
Size: 440ml
Sold By: eBay (US Import)
Web Site: