1899

October 13th, 2018

Morrisons (the supermarket) appear to have rebranded their own-brand energy drinks for their 120th anniversary with four different flavours. This is the original flavour, and whilst it’s undoubtably a clone it’s quite a sweet and treacle-like taste with quite a sticky aftertaste. Where this rebrand stands out though is not in its flagship original flavour but in its full range including sugar-free, lemon and cherry varieties – those latter two also being low calorie and not shouting about it.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Morrisons
Web Site:

Sunsoul Raspberry and Elderflower

October 6th, 2018

I have just noticed that Sunsoul appear to be numbering their flavours. This particular one is No. 8. Taking a look at their website, the Kaffir Lime and Lemon has been replaced by No. 22 ‘Sicilian Lemon and Lime’ instead… but I’ve not discovered that or No. 17 and No. 3 yet. Ill keep my eyes peeled. It’s a nice drink – the raspberry being the dominant flavour but if you are faced with the choice I’d go for the lemon and lime one.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 26mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 34kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Sainsbury's
Web Site: Click here

Carabao Green Apple Sugar Free

September 29th, 2018

Carabao are really pushing their brand at the moment, with posters everywhere and even TV adverts. It’s a bit disappointing though that their main ‘special’ flavours are pretty much following those of the cheaper brands, i.e. apple and orange. I’m expecting them to release a berries one too at this rate. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a nice drink if you like apple drinks – it’s not overpowering and they’ve got the balance right, but it just feels like something I picked up from a discount shop and not the premium £1 can it is.

Overall Rating: (2.6/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 1kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By:
Web Site: Click here

5-hour Energy Berry

July 28th, 2018

With these 5-hour energy shots it really doesn’t seem to matter what flavour they say it is – what you get is a quick burst of bitter flavour down your neck followed by a pick-up a few minutes later. And that’s what really matters… you do taste the berry I guess, briefly, but it’s not important or much different to the other flavours!

Overall Rating: (2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 350mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 11kCal/100ml
Size:
Sold By: Whole Foods NYC
Web Site:

5-hour Energy Orange

July 21st, 2018

It says 5 hours on the bottle, but this beauty got me through a 6 hour drive along the M4 on a busy bank holiday Friday evening. As you’d expect from a shot, it’s more about the instant caffeine hit whilst minimising bladder impact than the flavour which makes it a perfect driving companion.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 350mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 11kCal/100ml
Size: 57ml
Sold By: Whole Foods NYC
Web Site:

Red Bull Summer Edition (Coconut Berry)

July 14th, 2018

I discovered this is a convenience store in New York, flossing over it originally when seeing The Summer Edition thinking I’d already tried it… then I noticed it was Coconut Berry not Lime. Weird combo, but it works! They’ve left the coconut subtle and the berry compliments it nicely, very refreshing indeed and like no drink I’ve tried before.

Overall Rating: (3.7/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 355ml
Sold By: New York
Web Site:

365 Liquid Energy Shot: Pomegranate

July 7th, 2018

Pomegranate flavoured drinks are alway approached with apprehension by me. I usually find them too bitter and especially in shot form. I was pleasantly surprised that this one wasn’t too bitter! Don’t get me wrong, is was still bitter, but nowhere near as strong as I’d imagined.

Overall Rating: (2.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 169.5mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 42.37kCal/100ml
Size: 59ml
Sold By: Whole Foods, NYC
Web Site:

Guayaki Yerba Mate Shot: Wild Berry Reishi

June 30th, 2018

Full marks for originality, but sadly this drink was one of only three from memory that I couldn’t finish. It was very bitter and tasted pretty nasty to me, I had about half the bottle before I gagged. Maybe I was in the wrong mood for it, but I had to chuck the rest away. If I ever come across the original (or any other variant) I’d give them a go out of curiosity.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 118.6mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 59ml
Sold By: Whole Foods NYC
Web Site:

Monster Juiced: Mango Loco

June 23rd, 2018

Amazing can design! But it’s just a tropical flavoured energy drink so popular in the summer so everyone is trying to get a share of that market. It’s sweet and has the synthetic Monster taste you’ll recognise.

Overall Rating: (2.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 49kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Roadchef
Web Site: Click here