Hell Strong Focus

April 21st, 2018

From the outside of the can it’s not possible, so far as I can tell, to work out what flavour it’s going to be. Well, the blurb is mostly in Greek so that doesn’t help me, but it still doesn’t seem obvious. Well, it turns out it’s tropical flavoured! It’s a subtle and sweet flavour, not too sharp. It also declares that it is 20% more caffeinated than normal drinks which is backed up by the 38.4mg/100ml caffeine content. That’s about 20% more than a regular 32mg/100ml drink. In reality, that’s not enough for me to have noticed any difference (not like some of the crazy strong drinks I tried in the US last year). Overall it’s a nice drink though, and it picked me up as expected!

Overall Rating: (2.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 38.4mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 47kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By:
Web Site:

MTV Up! Sugar Free

April 14th, 2018

In my opinion, this is preferable to the non-sugar-free version. It has less of an aftertaste and is a lot lighter is flavour. Other than that it’s pretty similar – the design of the can is different too with a confetti styled graphics instead of the diagonal stripes. It’s still a clone, but not a bad one.

Overall Rating: (2.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 2kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: B&M
Web Site:

MTV Up!

April 7th, 2018

The main selling point of this drink I’d say is its branding. MTV is an iconic brand, especially for those of us who remember the 1980s! It’s definitely a clone, but it’s not a bad one. and it didn’t cost much from a local discount store either. Taking a look at the drink’s web site, it seems it was quite poopular in Eastern Europe a couple of years ago, sponsoring various events around the summer. The taste: very sweet with a syrupy after-tang, but not bitter at all. Not too fizzy, but quite smooth.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: B&M
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar First Start: Mixed Berries

March 24th, 2018

Well, I suppose it’s ok – but nothing special. It’s like they’ve taken the idea from an own-brand (like Asda/Tesco) and then watered it down somewhat. It tastes to me like a weak mixed berry squash. Just like the Orange and Clementine version, it has a natural source of caffeine and contains fruit juice. It’s still my personal opinion that you shouldn’t start the day with an energy drink – your normal healthy diet should come first, therefore I can’t condone the branding choice here. But… if you had to choose a First Start drink, I’d go for the Orange over this Berries one.

Overall Rating: (3.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , , ,
Calories: 6kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Tesco
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar First Start: Orange Clementine

February 3rd, 2018

I’m trying to figure out what makes First Start different to other Rock Star energy drinks. It says that it derives its caffeine from natural sources (so that’ll be the guarana then, not so unusual), and that it contains 5% fruit juice. I guess it’s that last point that makes it ‘first start’, like it’s supposed to be your morning fruit juice drink possibly? Bad idea if you’re doing that in any case! Anyway, the drink has a nice sweet orange flavour to it, quite sugary tasting yet low in calories. If we ignore the odd/confusing branding choices, it’s a good old stonking sized can of energy drink.

Overall Rating: (3.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
4.0/5 (1 vote)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , , , ,
Calories: 5kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Tesco
Web Site: Click here

Tenzing

January 27th, 2018

As Sherpa Tenzing neared the summit of Mount Everest in 1953, I wonder if he thought to himself “you know, I could really do with an energy drink brand being named after me.”. Well, that potential thought has come true. According to the can’s blurb, this drink is inspired by the evergising brew of the Himilayan Sherpas, and brew is the definitive word here. This drink tastes like a really weak non-alcoholic beer. It’s really bitter, to the point where it’s almost undrinkable. I think it has something to do with the natural ingredients list of lemon juice, green tea/coffee and Himilayan rock salt. To counteract all of those bitter flavours you need a lot of sugar and this drink doesn’t have much of that. It does contain beet sugar, which is just a normal sugar (as opposed to cane sugar or corn syrup), but in order to keep the calorie content down they don’t seem to have used very much. That’s a shame really because at 58 calories/can it’s neither low calorie or full fat – they should have just ramped the sugar up to improve the taste.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Tesco
Web Site: Click here

Colossus Zero

January 20th, 2018

Pretty much like its full fat brother, Colossus is Lidl’s attempt to mimic Monster’s branding witha giant ripped-style letter X on the front of the can. I mean, it’s even using the same colours as Monster with green for the original version and blue for this low calorie version.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
1.0/5 (1 vote)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lidl
Web Site:

Kong Strong Sugar Free

January 13th, 2018

Surprisingly this didn’t actually taste anything like the full fat version, it’s almost like a totally different formula. I found it a bit sickly and maybe with a hint of aniseed too, it’s not often I prefer the non-diet version of a particular brand but in this case normal Kong is better.

Overall Rating: (1.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Lidl
Web Site:

Colossus

January 6th, 2018

I purchased this from Lidl at the same time as I purchased Kong Strong, and given that the old Lidl energy drink brand was called Mixxed Up I expected them both to taste more or less the same as that and therefore each other. They were quite different though – compared to Kong Strong, this drink is more tart and sour, and quite difficult to drink in such a large quantity. I struggled through it with my teeth and tongue feeling fuzzy and coated afterwards… if you have the choice, don’t choose this one.

Overall Rating: (1.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 40kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lidl
Web Site: