USN Spike Energy Shot Cola

March 23rd, 2019

Imagine if you can that you have managed to liquidise or juice a whole bunch of sour fizzy cola bottle sweets. And then you downed it in one go. That’s pretty much what you have with this cola flavoured energy shot. It gets full marks for originality because I have never tasted anything like this before! It needs to be sweeter though to be perfect because you still get the expected very bitter and sour taste that you get with every other energy shot. Worth a go if you manage to find one because it’s one of a kind.

Overall Rating: (4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 300mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 14kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site: Click here

USN Spike Energy Shot Berry

March 16th, 2019

You don’t tend to see many energy shots anymore. There was a time several years ago when every brand had a ‘shot’ version. As I expected though, these Spike shots have the familiar extreme bitterness that the shots of old use to provide. This berry flavoured shot was sadly masked by that aforementioned bitterness, so all you really taste is a sour burst of liquid that makes you draw your lips back over your teeth and inhale sharply.

Overall Rating: (2.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 300mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 14kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site: Click here

Sunsoul Wild Blackberry and Pear

March 9th, 2019

No.17 in the Sunsoul collection, which means only No.3 to find according to their web site -which is bizarre at time of review… check it out. All black+white, moody, with three girls dressed in evening wear holding cans of Sunsoul whilst posing in some country house surroundings. It seems at odds with the 100% natural energy vibe. I was expecting fields and forests and things, oh well. Taste-wise it’s really nice – I don’t like pear flavourings at all, but I can’t taste it in this drink. It’s very fruity and perhaps the cocktail of pear with blackberry has made it palatable for me. It’s slightly lower in caffeine than most energy drinks, and is definitely not low calorie, but it’s a good drink all the same.

Overall Rating: (3.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 26mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 34kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site: Click here

Dark Thunder Original

March 2nd, 2019

I had high hopes for this drink after trying the sugar free version. It’s nice tasting, but it’s just a clone. Although I’m not classing this as low calorie because it’s the full fat version in the range, it’s actually not that calorific. At about 91kcals per can, it’s lower in calories than some of the low calorie ones I’ve reviewed in the past. That’s in part to the addition of sweeteners to compensate for a lower sugar content, which is necessary to avoid the UK sugar tax. You can’t tell that’s it’s reduced sugar at all. Flavour-wise it’s mellow and sweet with no bitter aftertaste and pleasant to drink, but it’s nothing special.

Overall Rating: (2.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 18kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site:

Dark Thunder Tropical Storm

February 23rd, 2019

I have to hand it to Aldi, their Dark Thunder range is going down well with me. This tropical flavour drink is much closer to orange in my opinion, but that’s no bad thing. It’s slightly on the sickly side after a large can has been downed, but it’s still tasty and refreshing over all.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 3kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site:

Dark Thunder Berry Boost

February 16th, 2019

Very nice, like a mixture of strawberry and raspberry in one large low calorie energy drink. This is the second of Aldi’s large can energy drinks that I’ve tried and it’s pretty good. So far so good!

Overall Rating: (3.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site:

Dark Thunder Zero Blast

February 9th, 2019

This is the first in a bunch of reviews for Aldi’s new own brand ‘large can’ range of energy drinks. It’s not regular clone, but it is unmistakably an energy drink. It has a slightly tart and aniseed flavour to it which is pretty good to my taste buds. With a large ‘T’ on the front of the can, it’s obvious whose customers they are targeting. If given the choice, I’d go for this T over M though 🙂

Overall Rating: (2.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Aldi
Web Site:

Kicker

December 1st, 2018

This drink has two things going for it: quantity and price. I could only find it in litre bottles, and for the bargain price of 89p. It’s a definite clone, but quite mild and watered down in flavour. I didn’t get much of a kick from kicker, but it did the job I suppose!

Overall Rating: (3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 46kCal/100ml
Size: 1000ml
Sold By: Poundstretcher
Web Site:

Buffalo

November 24th, 2018

I discovered this can sitting in a Pound Stretcher fridge all by itself, the sole remaining can in the shop so far as I could see. Design-wise, I think the can is quite attractive, with Wild West style lettering and the not-Red-Bull-bull / buffalo drawn above. It doesn’t have the same look associated with many cheap clone drinks. It is, however, a clone! The flavour is sweet and sharp, but with a hollow overtone making it feel quite watery, but it does pack an expected punch of sugar and caffeine. If when you read this their website is still working, check it out. The marketing team are clearly not native English speakers but they have done their best to sell the product! I mean, it has “magic ingredients” and “After opening up the can, you can directly feel the Energy 
which runs into your body!”. They even do a ‘junior’ version according to their site which is a soft drink containing L-Carnitine. I can’t condone the potential targeting of children in an energy drink brand, even if that one product is not technically an energy drink, but I’m still on the lookout for it as I’d quite like to try it personally.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By:
Web Site: Click here