Faxe Kondi Booster Energy

October 12th, 2019

This is the third Faxe Kondi drink I’ve tried, and sadly the least inspiring. It’s a clone, and it makes no pretence of that to be fair with its “Intense Taste of Energy Drink” slogan along the top of the can. Very sweet, quite sickly, but pretty much what you’d expect from a clone.

Overall Rating: (1.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 46kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Free

October 5th, 2019

Really similar to the ‘Original’ version, only much less sickly and in my opinion a whole lot better. The lower (zero) sugar content seems to be the key to that improvement in drinkability. I still can’t quite put my finger on what the flavour of the drink is, but it certainly is refreshingly different to the vast array of other copy-cat energy drinks out there.

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 0kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Original

September 28th, 2019

For those of you who are not of a Danish persuasion, Faxe Kondi is a Danish soft drink brand, generally marketed as a sports drink. ’Booster’ is their caffeine enhanced range and with this Original flavour they have taken their flagship product and given it an enhanced makeover. Taste-wise it’s very sweet and fruity, but unspecific in the particular fruit used. It’s pretty good, but quite sickly after a while. All of the varieties were available in 500ml cans, but I chose the smaller 330ml for testing and I think even that serving size is too much. I’d suggest this is better suited to an occasional treat rather than a general pick-me-up. Note: I did also see a number of other flavours, but due to the storage limitations of my backpack I had to take just the essentials!

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 49kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Cult Sugar Free

September 14th, 2019

As with the ‘original’ flavour, it’s a clone and sadly nothing more special than that. Taste-wise, it’s actually difficult to tell that’s it’s sugar-free and it really does taste very similar to its full-fat version. It’s quite a watered down flavour to start with anyway.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 4kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Cult

September 7th, 2019

A great can design and brand name, but sadly it’s just a façade for a generic clone drink. It’s easy to drink and not bitter or sickly, but there’s not too much else to say about this one unfortunately.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here

Sodastream Xtreme Energy 0 cal

August 31st, 2019

I’m a bit late to the whole Sodastream revelation having only just received one as a gift. I know they’ve been around for decades, but it’s just one of those things I kept putting off until another time. So, when I did eventually get one, I realised that most of the syrups are not available in the UK anymore. I imported a whole box of these Xtreme Energy 0 calorie syrup concentrates from a supplier in the US and fortunately it tastes pretty nice! I’ve guessed at the caffeine content for two reasons. Firstly, it doesn’t state on the bottle how much caffeine is in the syrup. Secondly, the amount of caffeine in your drink depends very much on how strong you make your drinks! This is a very strong tasting syrup and I’m still trying to figure out the best syrup/water ratio, but it’s sweet (you can’t tell it’s sugar free in my opinion) and refreshing. Now that I have a Sodastream, provided I can keep obtaining a supply of these syrups then this is likely to become my staple daily energy drink of choice. If only I could source it in the UK, that would save a whole load of transport costs (and carbon footprint!).

Overall Rating: (3.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 0kCal/100ml
Size: 440ml
Sold By: eBay (US Import)
Web Site:

Mutant: Gold Strike

August 10th, 2019

I discovered this range of Mutant drinks in a confectionary import shop in Cardiff. I thought at first it was a Monster rip-off, but it turns out it is actually a genuine Monster brand. The drink has been imported from Vietnam, and there’s very little English on the label so it’s quite difficult to make out any information about it from there. However, remembering when I tried a bottle of Mutant a while back, this spin-off brand is Monster’s attempt to get in on the Mountain Dew market. The Gold Strike flavour here is very similar to Mountain Dew White Out. It’s smooth and creamy (!?), I guess a bit like a citrus cream soda. Very nice, but very sweet and not that refreshing if that’s what you’re looking for.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 20mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 69kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By:
Web Site:

Boost Energy – Cherry Burst

August 3rd, 2019

I was a little bit disappointed with this drink. It started off great, a nice and sweet fix cherry flavour that was a bit different to the norm. But, after only a few sips it became quite sickly to drink. That’s a shame really because they really have tried something different, so maybe it’s just not to my taste.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Hollywood Grocer and Wine
Web Site:

Moose Juice Energy Shot Rainbow Candy

May 25th, 2019

This is a flavour first – I’ve never seen a ‘rainbow candy’ drink before, energy or otherwise. As a shot, you do get a very slight bitterness, but it’s tempered a lot by the sweetness. Yes… an energy shot that tastes sweet! I’d really like to try a regular energy drink of this flavour as I’d reckon it’d be quite a treat. This shot also has added BCAAs for the gym-goers.

Overall Rating: (3.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 333mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 29kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: B&M Bargains
Web Site: Click here