Mutant: Gold Strike

August 10th, 2019

I discovered this range of Mutant drinks in a confectionary import shop in Cardiff. I thought at first it was a Monster rip-off, but it turns out it is actually a genuine Monster brand. The drink has been imported from Vietnam, and there’s very little English on the label so it’s quite difficult to make out any information about it from there. However, remembering when I tried a bottle of Mutant a while back, this spin-off brand is Monster’s attempt to get in on the Mountain Dew market. The Gold Strike flavour here is very similar to Mountain Dew White Out. It’s smooth and creamy (!?), I guess a bit like a citrus cream soda. Very nice, but very sweet and not that refreshing if that’s what you’re looking for.

Overall Rating: (2.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 20mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 69kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By:
Web Site:

Boost Energy – Cherry Burst

August 3rd, 2019

I was a little bit disappointed with this drink. It started off great, a nice and sweet fix cherry flavour that was a bit different to the norm. But, after only a few sips it became quite sickly to drink. That’s a shame really because they really have tried something different, so maybe it’s just not to my taste.

Overall Rating: (3.1/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 30mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Hollywood Grocer and Wine
Web Site:

Moose Juice Energy Shot Rainbow Candy

May 25th, 2019

This is a flavour first – I’ve never seen a ‘rainbow candy’ drink before, energy or otherwise. As a shot, you do get a very slight bitterness, but it’s tempered a lot by the sweetness. Yes… an energy shot that tastes sweet! I’d really like to try a regular energy drink of this flavour as I’d reckon it’d be quite a treat. This shot also has added BCAAs for the gym-goers.

Overall Rating: (3.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 333mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 29kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: B&M Bargains
Web Site: Click here

Coca-Cola Energy

May 18th, 2019

What can I say other than it’s a potent version of Coca Cola? I’m not much of a Coke drinker to be honest, but to me it didn’t taste any different to regular Coke. It’s got a much higher caffeine content, and doesn’t appear to be suffering from a lack of sugar either.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
1.0/5 (2 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 42kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Asda
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Twister Wacked Red Berry

May 11th, 2019

I’ll start with the name… I’m familiar with the word ‘whack’, but not ‘wack’, so I needed to look that up. Apparently it means “bad, stupid, or unusual”, and I’m guessing it’s that last definition that they intended to associate with this flavour! Just like the other blue raspberry flavour I tried last week, the red berry is also quite tasty but sickly. But mostly tasty! The flavour took a while to identify, but I’d say it tastes like raspberry donuts (yes, American spelling). Not just normal raspberry donuts, but the artificial flavouring you get when you try a raspberry donut flavoured product such as raspberry donut flavoured milkshake or sweets. It’s not a flavour I’ve ever come across in an energy drink before and is very different to the raspberry of the blue raspberry drink.

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lifestyle Express
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Twister Smashed Blue Raspberry

May 4th, 2019

This tastes great, but it is quite sickly after a while. It’s part of Rockstar’s new ‘twister’ range, for which I have only found two products (see Wacked Red Berry). At the time of writing, the rockstarenergy.co.uk web site appears to be down, so I can’t be certain as to the full intention for the ‘twister’ range of flavours, but I’d guess they are a response to the UK sugar tax. At 4.7g of sugar per 100ml, this drink falls in just short of the 5g limit for the tax to apply and consequently provides 23 calories/100ml too. That’s not low in calories by any means for a soft drink, but it’s in the right direction and certainly a lot lower than the older full-fat Rockstar blends.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
4.0/5 (1 vote)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 23kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Lifestyle Express
Web Site: Click here

Wow Focus Nootropic Mixed Berry

April 27th, 2019

What is ‘Nootropic’? Apparently it’s ingredients that support cognitive function and reduce fatigue, and inspired by the film ‘Limitless’ (the book’s better, but I still loved the film and the TV series personally!). This is a new brand, and the can design is a bit different too with it being wrapped in a label instead of directly printed. The flavour of the drink sadly doesn’t appear to be anything special. It tastes like a supermarket own-brand blackcurrant drink. It’s low calorie (almost no-calorie) so it does have that in its favour.

Overall Rating: (2.5/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
3.5/5 (2 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 0.4kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Asda
Web Site:

SIS Go Caffeine Shot Tropical

April 13th, 2019

Slightly different to the taste I was expecting – the usual energy shot flavour is one that’s very bitter with quite a nasty aftertaste, but this one was instead very sharp with a sweet aftertaste. It still made me draw back my lips from my teeth and make a hissing sound, but it was nowhere near bad enough to make me question my motives in trying the shot this time. It’s pretty high in caffeine even for a shot and gave me a boost in pretty much record time… not a drink to be taken lightly!

Overall Rating: (2.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 250mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 14kCal/100ml
Size: 60ml
Sold By: Sainsbury's
Web Site: Click here

Pantha Energy

April 6th, 2019

I’m not sure where Tesco managed to dig this drink up from, but its web site is no longer active and the social media accounts haven’t posted anything in years. Aside from the spelling of Pantha, which offends my pedantry, the drink is nothing special. It’s a basic sickly tasting clone and full of sugar.

Overall Rating: (1.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 45kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Tesco
Web Site: Click here