Rockstar XD Power – Hardcore Apple

December 7th, 2019

I don’t like apple flavoured anything. Usually… but this drink surprised me. I had planned to just try and bit and tip the rest away because I was so unlikely to want to finish it. Well, all finished! A nice fresh, sweet favour, and low in calories too! It also has BCAAs for the body builders out there (??? why are you drinking energy drinks!?).

Overall Rating: (3.8/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 40mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 2kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Premier Stores UK
Web Site: Click here

Rockstar Baja Juiced – El Mango

November 30th, 2019

A nice tropical flavoured drink in a massive can – it was quite refreshing and mild too. It’s just a shame it’s so high in calories! It doesn’t score very high on originality though despite calling it El Mango… it’s a tropical drink in everything but name.

Overall Rating: (2.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 48kCal/100ml
Size: 500ml
Sold By: Premier Stores UK
Web Site: Click here

4move Active Vitamin Lime

November 23rd, 2019

Quite an unusual drink given that it’s not actually billed as an energy drink. It’s a magnesium and vitamin drink with a low caffeine content provided by guarana. The guarana content according to the nutrition label is 0.01% which likely makes the caffeine content lower than that. Now then, magnesium is obviously an essential part of our diet, but I can’t help but think that whacking it in a high sugar drink like this is somewhat counterintuitive though. One of magnesium’s purported benefits is reducing the risk of diabetes, so maybe it should be an essential ingredient in all high sugar drinks – targetted delivery? Just my thoughts anyway. The lime flavour was sweet and natural, very refreshing, and as a soft drink this was a nice treat. As an energy drink (which to be fair, it’s not branded as such) it didn’t provide a kick.

Overall Rating: (3.2/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 10mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 44kCal/100ml
Size: 250ml
Sold By: Tesco
Web Site:

Clean Drink Cactus-Lime

November 9th, 2019

There were a few flavours of ‘Clean Drink’ available in the small Swedish news agent that I found this in, but this looked the most interesting. Cactus and Lime flavour – it certainly tastes a bit different to your average drink. You can taste the lime easily, it’s not a strong flavour but sweet and refreshing, and then there’s the odd accompanying plant-like taste that goes with it. It’s not unpleasant and it works quite well with lime, but I couldn’t tell you exactly what type of cactus it is! I assume there must be a specific type of cactus somewhere that has been used to make drinks for centuries and there may even have been a fascinating story on the side of the can to tell me this, but I don’t speak Swedish! Anyway, worth a try for something refreshing and different.

Overall Rating: (4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 55mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 3.5kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Stockholm
Web Site:

Celsius Citron Lime

October 26th, 2019

Mmmm, really good. Nice, fruity, and refreshing. It’s also dangerously highly caffeinated (at almost double the dose of Red Bull) in combination with being really easy to drink so be careful! Fortunately, it is very low in calories by way of compensation.

Overall Rating: (4.4/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 56mg/100ml Tags:
, , ,
Calories: 1kCal/100ml
Size: 355ml
Sold By: Stockholm
Web Site:

Battery Blueberry

October 19th, 2019

A pretty good pick-me-up with a very subtle blueberry flavour. Quite sweet but not sickly and very easy to drink. Certainly it is better than the standard energy flavoured Battery I remember having a while back.

Overall Rating: (3.3/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 60kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Helsinki
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Energy

October 12th, 2019

This is the third Faxe Kondi drink I’ve tried, and sadly the least inspiring. It’s a clone, and it makes no pretence of that to be fair with its “Intense Taste of Energy Drink” slogan along the top of the can. Very sweet, quite sickly, but pretty much what you’d expect from a clone.

Overall Rating: (1.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 46kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Free

October 5th, 2019

Really similar to the ‘Original’ version, only much less sickly and in my opinion a whole lot better. The lower (zero) sugar content seems to be the key to that improvement in drinkability. I still can’t quite put my finger on what the flavour of the drink is, but it certainly is refreshingly different to the vast array of other copy-cat energy drinks out there.

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
, ,
Calories: 0kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site:

Faxe Kondi Booster Original

September 28th, 2019

For those of you who are not of a Danish persuasion, Faxe Kondi is a Danish soft drink brand, generally marketed as a sports drink. ’Booster’ is their caffeine enhanced range and with this Original flavour they have taken their flagship product and given it an enhanced makeover. Taste-wise it’s very sweet and fruity, but unspecific in the particular fruit used. It’s pretty good, but quite sickly after a while. All of the varieties were available in 500ml cans, but I chose the smaller 330ml for testing and I think even that serving size is too much. I’d suggest this is better suited to an occasional treat rather than a general pick-me-up. Note: I did also see a number of other flavours, but due to the storage limitations of my backpack I had to take just the essentials!

Overall Rating: (3.9/5)

Taste: Originality:
Strength: Visitors' Rating:
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
0.0/5 (0 votes)
Caffeine: 32mg/100ml Tags:
,
Calories: 49kCal/100ml
Size: 330ml
Sold By: Skagen
Web Site: Click here